Formal Education


  • Nice post on Futility Closet – https://www.futilitycloset.com/2017/07/12/never-too-late-2/
  • The fact that Abraham Lincoln had less than a year of formal education ought to tell how overrated state controlled, regimented public school curricula is.
  • One of the things America gets right is the freedom to pursue alternative education paradigms, like homeschooling for instance.
  • In India it is too state controlled, which is why subjects like History quickly become propaganda of the ruling dispensation.
  • My own formal education has been useful in a very limited sense.
    • I learnt more history and social science when I was in engineering through my own reading that I did in 10 years of schooling.
    • I picked up more language skills( like writing) by own initiatives and reading, than any formal curriculum.
    • I learnt more science while preparing for JEE than in any college or school I went to. Most of it was reading and self-learning. I can recollect very few teachers who contributed to my learning.
    • I learnt more computer science in 2 years of grad school than 4 years of undergrad.
    • In all the above scenarios real learning only happened when I did something with my own initiative rather than being pushed into something.
  • Sound ideas about changing education paradigms –
This entry was posted in Education, Life, Opinion, Resources and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

